The Best Thing I Read This Week Is …

It’s actually not the “best” as in “I love this!  This is so interesting and beautifully written!”  It’s the “best” because it is the most provocative and the most irritating thing I’ve learned this week and I bet at least one person reading this will be as surprised by it as well.  Here it is:

DoubleSpace

The title of the article this appeared in is “Nothing Says Over 40 Like 2 Spaces After a Period!”

What??  First the ageism.  The author Jennifer Gonzalez should have titled it “You’re old and lame if you use two spaces after a period.”

I am 40.  I learned to type on a computer but mainly used a typewriter when I practiced typing.  Two spaces after a period is what was drilled into me and I have never heard anything that contradicted this until someone shared a snarky tweet with a link to an editor who sneered at anyone who used two spaces in submitted material on Wednesday.

Sorry we losers didn’t get the invisible memo.

I did some research and there are reasons two spaces were used..blah blah…and now typeface is different…blah.  If you want to understand the blah, read this.

Because these articles denouncing us old fogies for using two spaces are so unnecessarily condescending and insulting and not helpful I will continue using two spaces, at least on my own blog.  I did it automatically as I was typing this. And I can’t stop.  I won’t stop.

MM

7 thoughts on “The Best Thing I Read This Week Is …

  1. I remember coming to grips with this a couple years ago when I drafted my first book. I didn’t want to believe it, but if I wanted to get the thing published, it is one of the “errors” that had to be corrected, apparently. I’m used to it now, but I feel your pain.

    Like

    1. So did you manage to start using only one space? Or do you automatically use two then go back and replace all of them? Even as I’m writing about this I can’t stop doing the 2 spaces. It’s in my DNA!

      Like

  2. Yes, I read about this too. I researched it also..something to do with the type face and blah , blah blah. I like two spaces after each sentence, but I guess it’s now considered antiquated. Ugh! Ugh! Ugh! I have never notices, but is this auto corrected on some systems and programs! I wonder. Wow! Times change quickly.

    Like

    1. I understand why the move to one space was made. What doesn’t make sense is the snarky attitude of the people telling us the move was made. A straight forward informative article would have been enough.

      Like

  3. Yes, Melene. Some ppl do take a twisted delight in the way that they pass on info. I also fully understand that language and its form are constantly evolving and changing. In Victorian times, for example, there was a lot of extraneous capitalization. When we read the original form of Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, at first glance it almost seems like another language. I know all of this, but yes, I still do like two spaces after each sentence. (I used to think that it was one of the hallmarks of an educated person.) Oh well, I will try to get used to the latest way. Now I am looking out for this in the latest books, magazine articles, e books etc.

    Thanks for highlighting this point. Another great post. (Did you see that? I used only ONE space after the last sentence? lol)

    Like

    1. Hi Lauren — yeah, I don’t have a problem with the change to one space. Things change and I will roll with it. Like you, I’m constantly on the look out for who uses two spaces and who uses one.
      You broke with your conditioning and used one space! I’m going to attempt to do it in my next post even though I said I wouldn’t change. I ‘m going to try to override my conditioning.

      Like

Leave a Reply

