The Truth About INFJs and All The Other Personality Types

Can you believe there are people who hate INFJs?  Wait…maybe not.  Three people found my blog by searching “I hate INFJs”, but I’m not going take that at face value.  Let’s seek the truth together, shall we?

1.  It may be the same person searching and that person may be an INFJ.  How do I know?  I’ve Googled “I hate INFJs” before.

2.  Let’s assume that the person(s) searching are non-INFJ.  According to the “research” (I go into this more below), INFJ make up 1-3% of the population which makes sense.  If the majority of the population was introverted, intuitive, and feeling types, human beings would still be living in caves.  The point of that statistic is that the likelihood of meeting an INFJ is very low and …

3.  Finding people who are consistently determined to be an INFJ is also unlikely.  I have taken the test/assessment 3 times and depending on the day sometimes I’m INFJ and sometimes I’m INTJ and sometimes I’m right on the fence — INXJ.

4.  OK.  So say you’re a true blue INFJ, whatever that means.  Why would you tell anyone?  I have never spoken the letters I – N – F – J to ANYONE in my offline life.  Online is a different story.  The internet loves labels like INFJ and judging people solely from those labels.  Everyone knows that one’s online personality is their whole personality, right?  (That was sarcasm.  Someone should invent a sarcasm font for real.)

5.  Let’s assume a non-INFJ has met a rare, bona fide INFJ who openly identifies as such.  From what I’ve read of these rare creatures, they tend not to open up so easily.  It’s unlikely to get close enough to an INFJ to hate them.  Maybe that’s the reason for the hate.  But it doesn’t matter.

6.  The idea of classifying anyone or yourself as one of 16 personality types is ridiculous and any hate one could have for another type is imaginary.  The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) assessment is not science.  There is no research supporting the validity or reliability of the classification or the idea that people can fit neatly into one type and therefore determine one’s overall personality, best career path, or WHO THEY ARE.

7.  “I hate INFJs” is wrong.  “I hate PEOPLE” is more accurate.

8.  Judging/labeling someone positively or negatively based on their MBTI type is like judging someone based on the month they were born.  Astrological signs and horoscopes are also a ridiculous waste of time.

9.  I know people feel their type helps them understand themselves and others better.  It’s a quick way of connecting.  It’s also a lazy way of connecting.  Author and professor Adam Grant wrote in his article “Say Goodbye to the MBTI, a Fad That Won’t Die” :  “we all need to recognize that four letters don’t do justice to anyone’s identity.”

10.  I’ve written about INFJs a few times.  My most popular posts are INFJ-related.  I would write about it every week if I could because I’m a traffic-whore.  But they are only so many lists, generalizations, and lists of generalizations I can make.  The fact that I can’t write about INFJs despite the interest, despite wanting to tells me what a crappy, shallow, meaningless topic it is. Regular people are always more interesting.

11.  I’d rather post a chart a week.  For my own amusement.  Here’s one I made about my INFJ posts:

Image (12)

 

12.  This will be my last post mentioning INFJs.

13.  To all the types:  let’s return to being weird, wonderful, complex, sometimes unknowable people and being OK with it and treating everyone else like the weird, wonderful, complex, sometimes unknowable people they are.

MM

3 thoughts on “The Truth About INFJs and All The Other Personality Types

Comments are closed.