The Benefits of Being a Homebody

Not enough is written about the homebody.  Everywhere you turn, people are writing about introverts & extroverts, Myers-Briggs Personality Types, liberals & conservatives, men/women/trans people.

What about the homebody?  I’ve always been one, but who are we?

I’m not a scientist but homebodies are people who like to be at home.  Not just like.  Prefer, enjoy, love being at home.

If you want to learn more about what makes us tick, check out Christopher Hudspeth’s list of
13 Things Homebodies Say and What They Actually Mean.  I laughed out loud at the hilarious truth of a few of the descriptions of the way the homebody operates:

1.  (After being asked, “What are your plans today?”) “Nothing.”

Contrary to popular belief, “nothing” can actually mean something. Technically the homebody could’ve said “I do have plans” because doing absolutely nothing was in fact their itinerary. Lounging around lazily? Yeah, I penned that in my schedule weeks ago, and I’m currently knee-deep in nothing, aka unavailable.

2.  (When bailing on plans) “I’m so sorry, a bunch of things just came up!”

Netflix got new stuff – like, really good stuff.

3.  (After being invited out) “I would, but I can’t get ready in time.”

I’m wearing soft pants (or no pants at all) and my body is sprawled out on cushiony furniture. I’d have to wait for whatever I’m watching to end (1-120 minutes), muster up the energy to get off of aforementioned furniture (15-45 minutes), wash-up/get dressed (45-120 minutes), and avoid being delayed again by the TV or internet on the way out (1-240 minutes).

4.  “I’m a people person.”

I’m a peephole person. As in, when the doorbell rings or someone knocks, the homebody will tiptoe over stealthily and look through the peephole to find out who dare visit their home unexpectedly.

5. (When plans are canceled on a homebody) “Aw, it’s okay, we’ll get together next time.”

YES! YES! YES! THANK YOU GOD FOR SAVING ME, I’LL NEVER WILLINGLY AGREE TO PLANS AGAIN.

This basically sums up who I am and what I do.

If you’re not a homebody, you may want to look into adopting our lifestyle.

Here are 5 benefits of being a homebody:

1.  It’s cheaper.  Homebodies save money on gas, parking, expensive restaurant meals, concert tickets, movie tickets, plane tickets and all the stayinginmoreclothes you need when you regularly venture outside your home.

Being a homebody saves time as well.  No more waiting in line to be seated at expensive restaurants, waiting for movies or concerts to start, planes to take off.  Very little waiting at all except for TV shows and movies to load on Netflix.

2.  It’s safer.  During Hurricane Sandy, a woman was walking on a street in Toronto and a large sign became detached by the wind and hit the woman in the head and killed her.  Tragic.  My first thought was “It wouldn’t have happened if she just stayed home”.  OK, maybe she was on her way home.  The point is homebodies rarely find themselves the victims of freak accidents involving wind-borne signs.  We rarely get into trouble.

3.  It’s healthier.  It’s healthier for me.   Many homebodies regularly order food in, but not me.  Of the 365 breakfasts, 365 lunches, and 365 dinners I eat in a year, maybe 15 of them are fast food or packaged food.  The rest are made by me or someone I know.  You can eat out and eat healthy but you really don’t know what’s in it.  And cooking your own food is fun and therapeutic.

Also, the less you go out, the less likely it will be for you to catch something from someone.  I’ve never had a flu shot and I haven’t had the flu in over 10 years (I just jinxed myself).  I don’t have a strong immune system.  I just stay away from crowds and groups of people if I can help it.

4.  You get to be in your pajamas a lot.  Enough said.

5.  You get majorly skilled at board games.  I’m a brilliant Yahtzee, Scrabble and Monopoly player.  Take that you lifes of the party and bar-hoppers!

Now I want to go on a bit of a rant.  I’ve been holding it in for a while, but this is the perfect time to let it out.  When I was doing research on the homebody, I read many blog posts in which the writer would claim to be a homebody and then qualify it by saying:

  1. I like people or I like spending time with certain people or
  2. I like to go out sometimes.

I’ve read both of these qualifiers a lot, especially by introverts and highly sensitive people, two groups that like to spend time alone but don’t want to alienate extroverts or appear too weird.

To this I want to say:  EVERYONE LIKES PEOPLE.  Serial killers like people.  Dictators like people. People who say they don’t like people LIKE PEOPLE.  If you’re a human being, you like people whether you act like it or not.  And…

EVERYONE LIKES TO GO OUT.  Homo sapiens were meant to move their bodies, walk, breathe in fresh air and go to places where other Homo sapiens are and talk to them or just look at them. Shut-ins like to go out.

Having a preference for something (like spending time alone and at home) doesn’t necessarily mean you despise its opposite.  I hope I never read those two obvious points ever again.

This week I took a mini-holiday.  I spent time with my favorite person, talking and laughing.  We played tennis outside.  While I was travelling, I loved looking at the autumn leaves and the farther from home I got, the wider the open spaces got and I felt soothed by it.  I loved breathing in and smelling the crisp fall air.  But even as I was enjoying myself, the homebody in me was excited and looked forward to being back INSIDE.  And not just indoors.  Inside of myself.  Because that’s where I’m happiest and most comfortable.

Liz Lemon is the homebody’s heroine.  lizlemon

MM

18 thoughts on “The Benefits of Being a Homebody

  1. Thanks, Liz for such a wonderful post! I love it. It really describes me to a “T”! I loved that part about when plans are cancelled. Yeah for homebodies! Sometimes, (actually most of those times), when I am out at a concert with a friend, I find myself thinking , I could be at home listening to this music in my own home, and comfort zone, and I could be reading or painting instead of just sitting here. Yes, Liz you are the homebody’s heroine. Keep up the good work
    Best, Lauren

    Like

    1. Hi Lauren — Thank you for the kind words but I think you’re confused. My name is Melene. Liz Lemon is the character Tina Fey plays on 30 Rock. But she should get all the credit anyway! Thank you for reading and commenting and thinking I was Liz Lemon.

      Like

      1. Melene,
        Sorry! I just quickly glanced at the name, and thought yes, that’s a coincidence, but there are lots of duplicate names. Anyway, as I said, I loved you post!
        Best,
        Lauren

        Like

  2. oh girl that was great. how exciting to ‘meet’ a real homebody – don’t get to meet many of us in real life! I’m 35 now and only just started being honestly openly homebodyish. This homebody is out of the closet, but still in the house… Used to feel embarrassed about it, but why? I love it – thanks for posting.

    Like

  3. Thank you for this article. Was so funny bc it was so true lol. I’m 29 and this described my life and proclivities seamlessly lol. I think ppl find it hard to believe how much we homebodies love spending time with ourselves because perhaps their relationships with themselves are not as developed? I think we homebodies are truly happy having our Selves as our own best friends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

