What I’ve Learned About Blogging So Far …

 

blogging (2)

1.  Start blog posts with your best ideas.

2.  Write attention grabbing headlines.

3.  Don’t be a dick; respond to comments.

4.  Dark backgrounds are bad.

5.  Spelling/punctuation/grammar errors are bad.

6.  Read other people’s blogs, especially the ones written on topics you’re not typically interested in.  Do you want to keep reading?  Why?  Do that.  Why not?  Don’t do that.

7.  If you write fiction/poetry and you want other people to read it, read other bloggers’ fiction/poetry and comment on it.  The only way someone will read your stuff is if you develop a relationship with them.

8.  Be patient.  It takes time to create a blog with loyal readers.

9.  Don’t give up.  “Writing isn’t the hard part, it’s the commitment.” — Seth Godin

10.  Write for yourself.

11.  Have a posting schedule.

12.  Beautiful/Interesting photos = more time visitors spend on your site.

13.  If you have blogger’s block, you’re not reading enough.

14.  “You can’t write differently, even if you want to.  You just have to be able to notice when you are boring yourself.” — Adam Philips

15.  Everyone should have a blog.

16.  Don’t follow other people’s rules (including these).

MM

8 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned About Blogging So Far …

  1. I LOVE these. I agree a million percent. I’m especially trying to do 12 (not quite there yet) and 13 is so true it hurts. I’m terrible at 2, so I’ve pretty much given up on that.

    The only one I would add is that if you can, don’t switch blog names a lot. It’s taken me about 5 years to finally settle on a blog name I like. I’ve lost tons of readers in that time. (And this one is another new name … I’ve been blogging around two weeks under it.)

    I love your blog, btw. It’s wonderful in here.

    Like

    1. Hi– On #12: I was checking out some blogs last week and I noticed that I spent more time on sites with ANY photos. Sometimes an extra five seconds means a reader is more likely to click on posts and read them.
      I try to be provocative with my headline or I think of my headline as a question and the post is the answer. Sometimes the only idea I have for the post is the title and I write the post around it.
      I agree with you about not changing names too often and I would add themes, but that’s less of a big deal.
      Thanks for liking and following my blog and commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

