How to Become Rich and Powerful

By “rich” I mean satisfied and fulfilled and by “powerful” I mean to affect positively.  (Sorry to the people who wanted to know how to be like Donald Trump.)

I’ve been wondering how to create a blog that is as satisfying and fulfilling and necessary as the blogs I read and can’t live without.  What can I create or offer that no one else can?

Author, trailblazer, prolific blogger and creator of go-to content Seth Godin has some ideas that have resonated with me.seth-godin

How do you become “rich” according to Godin?  By consistently giving things away.  A blogger reviewing Godin’s book Linchpin wrote that giving “signals to others that you have plenty more to share”  and it inspires the person to whom much has been given to give in return.

When I give away an e-book, I just give it away. I don’t say that you have to give me your email address so then I can extract your attention on an ongoing basis, that’s a transaction.

{…}

Whereas if I give you an idea, a blog post, a PDF and just say here, take it, spread it, it starts by its nature as being uneven. And since it’s uneven it can be a gift. And when it’s a gift, it’s art. And when it’s art, it can make a change.*

How do you become “powerful”?  The things you give away should provide so much value that people depend on them and you for that value.  Those valuable , can’t-live-without-it things have to fill a void, a void that only you can fill.

We do not connect with utility. We connect with things that change us.

When we connect, we’re willing to spread the word, we’re willing to pay, and we’re willing to care. We want to be part of that thing and, more importantly, part of the person who made that thing.

{…}

What human beings want, once they have enough food and shelter, is meaning. We want to matter. We want to engage with people who matter. We want to do something worth talking about. That’s our shortage. We don’t have a shortage of stuff; we have a shortage of caring.**

How do you create something with value?  It has to be something scarce.  There must be some risk involved.  If it doesn’t scare you to share it, it isn’t scarce enough.

The things we fear are probably feared by others, and when we avoid them, we’re doing what others are doing as well.

Which is why there’s a scarcity of whatever work it is we’re avoiding.

And of course, scarcity often creates value.

…(If) you’re afraid of something, of putting yourself out there, of creating a kind of connection or a promise, that’s a clue that you’re on the right track. Go, do that.***

EVERYONE can be rich and powerful as defined above.  The tricky part is figuring out what you have to offer and having the guts to expose yourself.

It is so important to measure your success not in dollars, likes, follows but by how much people depend on you.  By the impact you make.  By how many connections you make.  Those connections are priceless.

I don’t know what I have to offer.  I don’t know what void to fill.  I don’t know how to make an impact.  All I know is eventually I want to be a content curator instead of a creator of content.  I just don’t know what to focus on or how.  I hope this content helped anyone else struggling like I am.

If anyone wants to guest post or you just want someone to read your stuff (I’ll read anything), let me know in a comment.  My only writing guideline is advice Godin gives:  don’t be boring.

MM

All quotes by Seth Godin:

*Selling Free Content:  Why Seth Godin never gives anything away for free
** How to become a Successful Writer:  Seth Godin in Conversation – Part 2
***Fear, Scarcity, and Value
One thought on “How to Become Rich and Powerful

  1. Thank you for this great post.
    Is Trump, George Bush or Toni Blair rich? I certainly would not traid places with any of them or worse shake hands or be there neighbor.

    I feel like the richest person on earth when I have my family with me. $$$$ in your bank account does not make you rich or powerful. Neither does having thousands of Facebook friends or have 100′s attending your dinner. It’s your family that rejoices your happiness & your pain. Unfortunately the new society is determined to alienate, Estrange and cut off family. They live for NOW and family is discarded. Is this a rich society?

    Like

Leave a Reply

